Some people say that the government should invest in trains and subway system to prevent traffic congestion in large cities. Others, however, think it should build wider roads. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While some argue that traffic jams can be avoided by improving the trains and subway system, others think that the government should improve the road infrastructure instead. Although, having large roads promotes a smooth flow of vehicles, I believe that it is better to spend on trains and subway projects because they provide affordable transport modes for residents and they are environmentally sustainable. On the one hand, spending money on the construction of bigger routes allows cars to drive freely without congestion. Investing in this phenomenon will mean people will be able to travel to work with less traffic compared to narrow roads that are usually full of angry drivers. For example, motorways with 8 lanes spread automobiles around, as a result, drivers can drive at a speed limit without having to slow down because of the car in front of them. For this reason, many opine to the idea of making wider roads. On the other hand, investing in better public transport services in big cities reduce the risks of pollution caused by private vehicles. If the government devote money to improving railway and subway transportation systems, then there will be fewer citizens driving their cars for work. Consequently, pollution rates in the air are minimised. Secondly, commuting in the city is cheaper than driving private vehicles. For instance, employees commuting to the city for work on the subway or train spend about $10 two-ways, on the contrary, someone driving spends roughly about $25 per day inclusive of parking fee. Therefore, I believe that cars more money should be transferred to the construction of railways rather than spending it on roads. This will stop more cars for better subways and train stations. In conclusion, while some believe big roads lead to less traffic, yet others think trains and subways should be used, I think the latter has more benefits.