Some people believe that studying at a university or college is the best route to a successful career. Do you agree or disagree?

There has been a heated topic of debate as to whether tertiary education is the best pathway to reach success in one's profession. While I admit the advantages of pursuing higher education when it comes to job seeking, I also believe that there is no best route for all youngsters. Undeniably, graduating from a university or college is beneficial for job applicants. Firstly, an academic qualification is a minimum requirement in some specific fields. It is virtually impossible to become a doctor or a teacher if a job seeker does not have the relevant qualifications since the fundamentals taught in university play a crucial role in these occupations. Secondly, having a university degree can set these candidates apart from those who only possess a high school diploma. In today's increasingly competitive job market, it increases the chance of getting a job with a lucrative income and good career prospects. However, there are many alternative and equally effective options that school leavers can consider to move forward in their career path. One option is vocational training institutions where learners have the chance to acquire first-hand experience and become skilled workers like mechanics, plumbers, and electricians in the future. This is a feasible choice for anyone who is not interested in learning academic subjects. Another option is to run a start-up business to turn excellent ideas into real products and services. Take my brother as an example. After having failed his college entrance exam, he decided to use all of his savings and raised funds from my parents to open a fast-food street vendor. Due to his unique way of mixing spices, his business received a lot of glowing reviews, becoming an Instagram phenomenon and generating a large profit for him. In conclusion, although I admit that qualifications can bring competitive advantages in a job hunt, I contend that university is not the best option for every student to achieve success in their future career. High school graduates should decide based on their preferences and abilities to choose the most appropriate path.