Many people believe that international tourism is a bad thing for their country. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to change this negative attitude towards international tourism?

It is clear that tourism has become a popular global leisure activity thanks to advancements in technology like online payment systems and remote booking. Given that certain individuals believe that tourism can be harmful to their countries, identifying the reasons is key to finding solutions. There are several reasons why tourism is viewed as negative by some people. First, local residents, especially those in popular tourist attractions, are having to deal with the increasing number of littering, such as plastic bottles, bags and packaging, after each holiday. This would not only harm the health of indigenous people but also put marine animals at stake, leading to greater tension between some locals and visitors. Second, many heritage or historical sites have been damaged by a part of modern tourists. For example, Stonehenge in England has been closed to the public since many visitors carved historic stone columns into small pieces of stone to bring back as souvenirs. Nevertheless, there is a number of solutions to change this negative attitude towards international tourism. Governments should put stricter regulations in place to protect popular tourist destinations. For instance, since historical sites and beautiful scenery are usually the main draws for visitors, passing and enforcing more serious fines for property damage or vandalism can help safeguard these locations. In addition, travellers should learn more about the place as well as the culture and tradition of the destination. If tourists can understand beforehand the customs and traditions, they will be able to improve their travel etiquette and avoid being hated by the locals. In short, tourists' lack of cultural and environmental awareness may accidentally upset the locals. However, the government can take steps to reduce this tension by passing stricter tourism policies and each tourist should try to learn local customs and basic etiquette to create a more positive effect.