In many countries, people are moving from rural areas to urban areas. What are the reasons for this? What problems can this cause?

Migration is an integral part of human development since ancient times. People have often transferred from one place to another in search of resources for a better life or to explore new places. According to open sources on the Internet, the recent tendency, when mostly the young generation moves from the countryside to towns and cities, has dramatically increased. The main reason for urbanization is the expectation of getting well-paid jobs. Usually work in rural areas requires more physical effort, but it is poorly paid, for example in Uzbekistan, the average salary in the countryside is more than 10 times less than the earnings of IT-park residents in the capital. Other reasons for shifting the rural population to a big metropolis are the lack of good education, medical infrastructure, and unemployment. Consequently, this process increases the pace of migration from those regions. Growing urbanization causes some issues both in urban and rural territories. The main problem caused by this is the increasing density of urban space, therefore often making them not able to provide enough accommodation to live and work for coming migrants. Even more, density causes decreasing in the level of the average salary rate as supply exceeds demand. Besides, urban areas face such problems as high energy consumption, poor air and water quality, and increasing traffic, meanwhile, life is fading away in the countryside. For instance, growing traffic and industries contaminate air and water, while many small towns and villages lose their community and thus become abandoned and lifeless. In conclusion, although cities provide opportunities for people to make their dreams about better life come true, it is better for them to shift only to places where there are enough options to find jobs and accommodation. The chaotic migration often gives rise to problems both for urban and rural populations.