Many things that used to be done in the home by the hands are now done by machines. Does this development brings more advantages or disadvantages?

The use of machinery in performing household chores has been steadily increasing for a few decades. Several things that used to be carried out manually have now been mechanised, thanks to technology. In this essay, I will explore the positives and negatives of this trend and illustrate how it is mostly beneficial and possibly few downsides. Using appliances have many advantages. Efficiency being one of them, the tasks that used to take very long when done by hand, can now be completed in a considerably lower amount of time. Washing machines can do loads of laundry in a matter of minutes, which would have taken hours if done manually. Another one is effectiveness. Appliances that have been designed for a particular task perform it way better than any human could have possibly done. Vacuum cleaners for example can clean floors and carpets so well that it is almost impossible to do this level of cleaning with traditional brooms or brushes. This reliance on machinery has some downsides too. People are losing essential life skills which may be handy in a situation where machines are unavailable or unusable. If a lawnmower is out of order, for instance, one would feel great discomfort doing manual grass-cutting. Will this have been a problem a generation or two ago? Of course not. Moreover, most of the machines do not come cheap requiring a large sum of upfront payment, a hike in electricity bills, and also maintenance cost time and again. In conclusion, the merits of using equipment outweigh the demerits as illustrated above. These products have greatly removed the muscle power necessary for doing house works, allowing spare time to put in other important stuff. As a downside, consumers are being more and more reliant on these machines, so losing some of the essential life skills that could be handy in many situations.