Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In the last decade, the use of technology in our daily life is increased significantly. Due to this trend people are often filmed without be conscious. In this essay, I will discuss the benefit and drawbacks of this situation and explain why I think it has more negative impacts than positive one on us. There is a main reason for thinking that this situation brings a benefit. Firstly, it is essential that people are informed when there is a camera which is recording the area, as if something happens you know that there is proof. For example, if you are in a train and somebody stole your wallet, you can ask for some help to the train company and, with the police’s support, have a chance to identify the burglar. On the other hand, this trend is useful for many businesses. First of all, a company can collect a lot of information about our characteristics and behaviours. In other words, for them it is an easy way to find new solutions for selling products and services. For this reason, customers should be aware of this, in order that they can pay attention to it and, maybe, avoid buying something that is not necessary. Furthermore, somebody can use technology to spy other people, and this is a big problem because our privacy is in dangerous. In conclusion, I believe that nowadays we are recorded everywhere and most of all without any reasons. Being filmed is a good thing if it is possible to prevent awful situations or find evidence, but not for other business.