Some countries achieve international sports by building specialised facilities to train top athletes, instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Do you think this is positive or negative development? Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The Impacts of doing sports on physical and mental well-being are manifold. Therefore, governments should provide sufficient facilities for their people as well as encouraging them to do such activities. Governments’ attention to sports could be judged by their countries’ success rate in international competitions. However, this may not be a good standard due to its shortcomings in including ordinary people. Professional athletes could set a great example for all of us in terms of improving our physical shape and doing sports more often. Younger generations in particular are often selecting a role model and imitating his or her actions. So If they pick a footballer, a NBA player or even a boxer as their superhero, they have a better chance to be active and healthy just like them. Moreover, it will simply lower the chances of them doing harmful habits like smoking or doing drugs. In this manner, paying attention to professional sports could not only bring silverware but can it also improve public health. In the past, regular workout and a healthy life-style was sufficient for a talented athlete to became successful in his or her field. But nowadays, it is necessary to invest a huge amount of money on specialized facilities and modern technologies in order to win anything in an international competition in compare to public sports complexes that can built with multiple times lesser money. Therefore, many experts believe that investment in public facilities, should take precedence over spending great amount of finance in exclusive training camps for professionals. In conclusion, while investing in professional sports could improve general health by setting a good example for population, governments shouldn’t spend their total sport’s budget on it. Cause increasing public sport facilities is a fundamental requirement to improve public health.