many television news programmes show pictures of events in the news which people find upsetting. While television has a duty to report important news, it should not bring disturbing images into people’s homes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

I completely agree that upsetting images must not be broadcasted in news channels that are watched by majority at home. Firstly, some viewers get afraid and the news they have watched might just be exagurated. Secondly, it can mentally disturb the spectators. We need to understand that the news channels can a play an important role in controlling the mode of the people watching it and in todays time such media is used as a weapon to induce fear amongst people by some governments. For example in India, the BJP led central government is continuousely showing the after affects of the attacks that have been made on Muslims by radicalised Hindutwa mobs which are very terrifying to watch, which has started to create fear amongst the Muslim communities across India as the government wants them to live in fear of the Hindus. Some subscribers who watch news and are mentally weak, cannot handel harsh images shown by the media. This can mentally affect people in several ways by not allowing them to sleep, or develop anxiety. An example from my personal experience is when I had come across a news that was showing images of a haunted activity in the neighbouring city because of which I was quiet mentally shaken in a way that I could not sleep for several days. Therefore, I would like to conclude by saying that upsetting images must not be shown to the public as it can have adverse affects in their day to day life.