Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

In the modern, world employee employer relationship found as a vital factor for organizational growth. Therefore, companies tend to learn more about their workers. Accordingly, obtaining the personal information of a potential recruit is one of the practices followed by some employers. Some believe that this information is beneficial. This essay strongly believes collecting personal facts such as hobbies, interests, and marital status is important to understand a potential employee. The personal facts demonstrate a picture of one’s personal characteristics. For example, a person who has a hobby of reading books would find it easy to work long hours. Further, marital status depicts the level of personal obligations. Because it is obvious that a married person needs more time to fulfil family responsibilities. Hence, knowing such helps an employer to gauge the attitudes, mindset, and flexibility of a person to a greater extent. Furthermore, this clarifies the employee fit into the organizational culture, and how long it would take. In my opinion, one’s attitude, and mindset play a significant role than the skills and competencies. An ideal example is providing flexible working hours to achieve a work-life balance. On the other hand, looking for personal data could deviate from core objectives. People believe properly implemented systems and processes would drive employees towards achieving organizational goals irrespective of their personal background. Further, a set of questions related to personal facts could lead to an uncomfortable situation for a candidate, if that conversation is not conducted in a confidential manner. In the present context, one possible thing could be that employees would provide structured answers to impress employers rather than real info. In conclusion, having personal data would provide light to understanding employee characteristics to develop a better relationship. Therefore, I strongly believe collecting personal data is a good practice.