Nowadays many people have access to computers on a wide basis and a large number of children play computer games. What are the positive and negative impacts of playing computer games and what can be done to minimize the bad effects?

The growing prevalence of computers in recent times has resulted in increased access to everyone, especially children who often use them for entertainment. Although this has seen some positive developments, there are many negative effects that need to be addressed. Regarding positive effects, video games tend to benefit children's cognitive skills the most. Many games require high level thinking skills to win such as problem solving and logic puzzles, which are not taught at school. In addition, studies show that children may also benefit from enhanced hand-eye coordination On the other hand, the negative effects of video game violence on young minds cannot be ignored. The widespread use of death, guns and violence in computer games may lead many children to think such behavior is normal, especially where such games are played for hours on end. Studies prove that repeated exposure to violence on TV and video games causes increased aggression and violence in children. Also, prolonged play may weaken eyesight due to many hours spent close to a screen. To minimize the negative influence of video games on children, there are a number of measures that can be implemented. Firstly, since some video games are rated, parents should limit their offspring to only those games suitable for their age level. Moreover, parents can restrict the time that their children spend in front of video games to minimize their daily exposure. Lastly, parents should ensure their children don’t sit too close to a video screen to help reduce eye strain. In conclusion, whereas playing video games offers some benefits, their drawbacks mean parents need to regulate how children play them. If well managed, video games can both entertain and benefit today's youth.