The best way to make roads safer is to make drivers take a driving test each year. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It has been frequently argued that to decline the proportion of road accidents, inhabitants ought to give tests annually. I completely disagree with the statement as there are some better ways to address this problem and the same would be discussed in the upcoming paragraphs. To begin with, conducting a road test each year is really an expensive idea as high authorities need to invest a lot of money to execute this plan. In other words, there would be a need for specific infrastructure designed in each city, consequently, special roads need to be constructed, so that they could not create problems for the public. Despite this, the government need to hire a good amount of employees merely to run such examinations, in fact, this percentage could be very high as per the number of residents. However, they could utilise the same amount to improvise the current infrastructure and avoid hurdles for the drivers. For instance, there are a considerable number of accidents that occur due to a lack of maintenance of the roads and traffic signs, subsequently, the bureaucracy needs to work on the existing framework. Furthermore, improvisation in the current rules and regulations along with the strict penalties for the lawbreakers could be a good idea to improve the current status of the mishappenings. Initially, the majority of the incidents merely occur because of the negligence of the victims, either they are impatient or in a hurry. Therefore, to avoid it, the council need to enhance surveillance throughout the city and give strict punishments and issue tickets for the blunders. For example, if the residents are aware that breaking the rules and overspeeding will cost them a lot, they would not dare to do so. In conclusion, in this era, the rise in automobiles and accidents has become a huge problem for the government to decline its proportion increasing the frequency of tests could not be an effective decision as it is quite difficult to implement. Also, drunk driving and intentionally breaking the rules are the fundamental causes of the issue.