Why don’t people take environmental issues seriously in spite of being given many warning by scientists? Why don’t people save energy in their daily life? Discuss the possible causes of these phenomena and give possible solutions.

There has been a series of questions raised to why people are not taking environmental problems as a serious matter despite the cautions from many environmentalists, and why people seem to take no effort in preserving environmental energy in their day-to-day life. This essay will discuss its causes and find appropriate solutions for this phenomenon. There are a variety of reasons as to why people are taking ecological issues lightheartedly. The main reason is that most citizens are voluntarily indocile. People who stand below the upper class in the social hierarchy frequently face financial struggles. With that in mind, various measures to relieve the environment are rather costly. Therefore, the people in the lower class and middle class rarely bother with lending a hand to help the environment as they still have their own individual problems to be dealt with. Regarding as to why energy preservation is often overlooked by people every single day, there are numerous factors that account for this. One of the major causes is that unsurprisingly, people are too lazy to begin with. In sociological terms, people who are in the upper-class hierarchy usually adhere to the ignorance of energy saving. For example, in 2019, the United States published data about electricity usage from certain areas. Locations where income is far higher than any other state or cities like Silicon Valley, consumed more than double the amount of electricity than most of the states. Despite these circumstances, there are several actions that governments could take to solve the problems. First and foremost, governments should legislate laws relating to the environment. As citizens are reluctant to care about the environment and ignorantly waste ecological energy, governments have no measures but to enforce them to take into consideration to the environment. In conclusion, the problem of people disregarding environmental detriments and squandering energy is unlikely to be entirely eliminated in the short term. However, various measures can be taken to tackle the issue to reduce the effects.