Some people think that too much money has been spent looking after and repairing old buildings, so we should knock down old buildings and build modern ones instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Throughout history, ancient buildings were of prime importance for humans, while many people argue that it is better to construct new buildings instead of repairing old ones, they claim too much money has been spent taking care of old buildings. I disagree with this idea. Some ancient architectures are invaluable in people's lives, such as old towers, ancient bridges and churches in Europe and Asia, etc. such buildings are human heritage. We have the responsibility to save them for the next generation. They actually remember us, and our identity, and they have valuable lessons about art and architecture. Moreover, archaeologists can gain information about our ancestors from them. Therefore, the money which has been spent looking after such buildings, has been spent in a thoughtful way and it serves some human purpose. On the other hand, a majority of old buildings are still suitable for living. As can be seen, many youngsters are driven to buy old buildings and refurbish them in a modern way, due to the affordability. It seems repairing old buildings is more affordable and convenient than constructing new ones,especially in megacities. In addition, constructing new buildings always irreversible damage to the environment. It needs new materials, and producing new materials like concrete or cement in factories and transferring them to construction sites, produces co2 emission which results in air pollution. To conclude, ancient buildings show our identity which should be protected regardless of the amount of money that should be spent on them, and in many cases building new ones costs more than repairing them.