In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about the way a city's public transport should be improved. Some of them argue that a large budget should be allocated to introducing new fast trains and railways, while others suggest that the budget should be allocated to the improvement of current public transport. I have a balanced idea of that. In my opinion, it is adorable if the government is trying to modernize a city; however, there are some advantages to rebuilding the current public transport that should not be overlooked. On the one hand, the government's budget is limited. Therefore, its expenditure is a crucial matter. Some might say, considering the existing rail lines, building new ones from scratch is a total waste of money. Another considerable fact is that introduction of the new trains might change the old, nostalgic look of roads and cities. By contrast, redeveloping old wagons could preserve the historical identity of the country. For instance, in my country, there are some hundred-year-old trains that people love to get on because it reminds them of their childhood. Overall, it is vital to note the importance of reasonable expenditure of the budget, and be careful about destroying historical heritages. On the other hand, some rail lines are too old to be renewable, and some old railways are not even safe enough anymore. In fact, I imagine that reconstructing some of them will cost much more than constructing a new one. In addition, some may prefer to live in a modern-looked city, and preserving the old public transportation is not favourable for them. I believe that there is no way other than asking people to vote for their preference. Overall, we should see the potential of each train line separately, and we must take the opinion of the majority of tax-payers into account. In conclusion, I restate that the advantages of keeping existing wagons and railways might outweigh the drawbacks, but we should be careful about safety matters, possibilities, and public opinion as well.