Some people think that all teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help the local community. They believe this would benefit both the individual teenager and society as a whole. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, many people believe that children in the thirteen to nineteen age group should be forced to take part in volunteer work which can create many valuable contributions to their local community. Personally speaking, I totally agree with this statement and the essay below aims to clarify my point of view. One of the cogent reasons why I agree with this opinion is that doing unpaid work can help children to improve their ability to deal with problems in different situations and develop their advanced skills. Firstly, if students always study theory without practising what they learnt, their flexibility in solving problems will be greatly reduced. When you are learning, everything you know is just theoretical and you can not predict what accident is going to happen in the future like when you go to work. Working at an early age will help you to come into contact with reality and be capable of dealing with unexpected incidents from your experience. For example, if you want to become a teacher, you can choose to teach children in churches or orphanages. This work can help you to understand children's psychology more, thereby easily imparting knowledge to them. Moreover, by applying in practice the knowledge which is taught at school through some unpaid jobs, teenagers can recognise their weaknesses and strengths early. From that, they will be able to give themselves some precise orientations about what they can do and focus on developing their own skills. Apart from enhancing the students' skills, encouraging young people to help the local residents without getting salaries also creates a responsible society. When doing unpaid jobs becomes a duty for teenagers, all kids will have to do it due to its subjection which is essential for their homeland. And in case they do not perform this obligation, they can suffer some deterrence from older people. In conclusion, although there are some demerits such as wasting important time, I think the benefits of the idea of forcing children to become volunteers is necessary for both individuals and their community due to its huge merits.