Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Whilst many people believe that the problem with the environment is due to species of plants and animals getting extinct while others believe that there are much more extraordinary environmental problems. I agree with the latter opinion that there are bigger problems which need to be solved in order to preserve the environment. Environmental issues are the biggest threat to humankind nevertheless, the destruction has already happened and many species have suffered due to it. This has created a disbalance in the ecosystem as most animals and plants could not thrive in that environment, this initially led to the starving of some exotic animals which are now extinct and probably future generations will read about it in history books. For instance, A particular breed of tortoise which has walked this planet Earth for more than 500 years has been confirmed by some scientists that they are on the verge of extinction and soon it will be followed by other animals because they are unable to sustain themselves in the present ecosystem. Thus, most individuals are seeking help to preserve species of plants and animals and are considering that this is the main problem. Although, the primary issue according to other individuals is the pollution of different types which is been transmitted to the human body and leads to unknown health problems. Furthermore, there are other environmental concerns such as Mining, oceans getting polluted due to the slippage of oil by ships, Deforestation, and Air quality is getting deteriorated by combustion engines. Additionally, people also think that this will create even bigger detrimental problems which could even lead to humankind's extinction if not controlled correctly. Therefore, others believe in the preservation of what is been left and consider this a vital issue. To conclude, Some individuals think that species of plants and animals getting extinct are the main problems to the environment whereas, I believe that there are other crucial issues which are still pending address and will have major impacts on the environment.