Improving living conditions within society is a far superior approach to crime prevention than the treat of punishment. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement and why?

In order to prevent crime, it is way much better to improve the living conditions in the community rather than punishment. This essay discusses why I completely believe that improving people's living quality is the best method for crime prevention. The first reason why I totally agree that enhancing people's living situation is the best solution to prevent crime is due to the country's prosperity. To illustrate, the majority of people nowadays commit crimes due to poverty. They need to fulfill their needs such as accommodation, food, and clothing. Therefore, if the government regulates training programs for its residents who are poor to have a job, the unemployment level will definitely decrease. As a consequence, the nation will not only prevent crimes, it will also develop. Moreover, I strongly believe that punishment does not guarantee that criminals will re-offend. Some of the offenders are forced to break the law since they have bad living conditions. Thus, providing a sentence to them might be considered a bad approach. Thus, the government should look at the main reasons why they committed a crime. For instance, they might break the law due to the low quality of their lives such as the need of having luxury things to be like other citizens. As a result, punishment will affect the society. In conclusion, although there are some benefits of punishing lawbreakers, I strongly believe that boosting people's living situation is the best way to prevent crime in society. This is because the country's development and prevention of committing the crime again.