Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Many governments believe that economic progress should be a top priority, but I believe there are many other aspects that are equally important. There are three key reasons why economic growth is seen as a fundamental goal for countries. First of all, a healthy economy is beneficial to job creation, a high level of employment and better salaries for people. Then, economic progress means more money can be available for governments to use in infrastructure and public services. For example, a government with higher revenues can improve its transport network, education system and hospitals. Finally, a strong economy allows country to stand on the global stage in terms of its political influence and trading power. However, I would argue that there are many aspects just as significant as the economic growth mentioned above. Firstly, the area of social justice, human rights, equality and democracy cannot be ignored. For example, the treatment of minority groups is a reflection of the moral standards and level of development of a society. In addition, another key consideration when judging the progress of a modern country is how well that country protects the natural environment, and whether it is moving towards environmental sustainability. At last, the success of a nation should be measured by looking at the health, well-being and happiness of people. In conclusion, economic progress is an important goal for many governments because of its benefits, while I believe that the other fields also need to be paid attention to equally.