Directors of large organizations earn much higher salaries than ordinary employees do. Some people believe it is necessary, but others think that it is unfair. Discuss both these views and give your own opinions.

Some believe managers of major corporations deserve significantly more favourable compensation packages than their subordinates, while others maintain that the practice is unjustifiable. This essay will discuss both perspectives and the reasons why I am in favour of the latter. On the one hand, there are proponents of higher compensation for directors. Their main rationale is that those in management positions have to bear greater responsibilities ranging from navigating complex relationships with stakeholders to creating a stimulating environment that encourages innovation and growth. The weight of these duties can cause immense pressure, resulting in heightened levels of stress in their job. In addition, effective leaders are normally visionaries who can anticipate and prepare for future trends. For example, the CEO of Vision Fund, Masayoshi Son, accurately predicted the boom of online shopping and made early investments in Alibaba, currently the biggest e-commerce platform in China, which resulted in a ten-fold increase in the fund’s evaluation. This is a testament to why leaders deserve significantly bigger financial rewards. On the other hand, the above-mentioned arguments can be debunked for two reasons. Chief of these is that working in any position can be equally stressful. Workers throughout big organisations typically work under the close supervision of bosses who consistently ask for an increase in productivity, yet are resigned to being made redundant if the company struggles financially. Secondly, it is ordinary workers that bring a leader’s vision into reality. The dream of Steve Jobs for a revolutionary music player, for example, would have never become a reality without the tireless work of engineers at Apple who researched and designed the iPod until it was technically feasible and commercially viable. Thus, it is reasonable to reduce the pay disparity between executives and their subordinates. In conclusion, both sides of the argument have their own merits. However, I believe that ordinary working people deserve fairer pay as directors given the challenges and stresses of their jobs and the fact that they directly create products that drive the success of the organisation. I also believe compensation should be based on length of service as that encourages talent retention and rewards those who are loyal and have proven their worth to a business.