In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

It is true that these days, many individuals would prefer living alone or in nuclear families to big ones comprising different generations. From my perspective, I am strongly convinced that this tendency brings many more benefits, compared to the drawbacks. There are two key reasons why I believe that this is a positive trend. The primary idea is that with the hustling and bustling life nowadays, people have to work hard overtime in order to earn enough for their living. Communicating all day sometimes makes them exhausted and therefore, they prefer to settle down in small families so that they will have private space for themselves to unwind and recharge their batteries. Besides, living alone will also improve self-independence. For example, a study in 2022 showed that 85% of youngsters in Viet Nam had a preference for living apart from their parents. Additionally, the second factor is that staying in extended household groups including various families causes the feeling of discomfort between each other. Especially, the generation gap is the biggest problem which people living together under one roof have to deal with. The younger may feel disturbed and annoyed by any lifestyles of the older and vice versa. Moreover, they are sometimes discouraged by the prejudice of their relatives as well. For instance, many researchers say that many individuals living together in an extended household seem to have more conflicts, compared to those who live alone or in nuclear ones. In conclusion, it seems to me that living alone or in small family units is an optimistic trend which is very common these days. It is necessary for everyone to have their own healing space.