Write about the following topic: ‘It is important for foreigners to know something about the history and culture of the country they live in.’ Discuss. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

History plays a vital role in one's life. Only through the past history, do we get to know the vast cultures and historical value of the country they live in. This essay will give a brief explanation of it. Firstly, It is important for foreigners to have some idea about the country.. It's always better for students who wish to study in a new country to have a brief idea about the country's language and socio-economic patterns as they will be living in the same society. Basic information makes them well prepared. For instance, the Foreign Exchange Programme conducted by Osmania University, helped individuals to know about the cultural value, religious practices and traditions of people living in Ohio even before they enrolled at Ohio University. This information helped the new students to be prepared and won't made them feel like fish out of the pond in the initial days at the university. However, it is not a compulsion that individuals shall do the groundwork before going to the new city. The majority of the young generation do not do the basework before going as they want to experience everything ad gain knowledge through personal experience. For instance, 87% of university -going students of class 2022-2023 at Loyola University opted to go to the new country for their higher education without knowing the country's cultural values as they wished to experience it with time. Hence, I believe that knowing the historical culture or tradition of a new country totally depends upon individual's preferences. However, being well prepared is better than being stranded in an unknown country.