Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems as well as practical problems.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Living in a country where the citizens speak another language rather than someone’s own mother tongue, might bring about both practical and communicating issues. I highly believe that this statement is true, and can cause problems specially for new immigrants in terms of both social and practical areas. Starting a new life in a foreign country would be challenging, specially in terms of socializing with native people. Initially, the majority of people are not able to speak an international or worldwide language such as English, hence it is difficult to begin a conversation with them, consequently you make no friends. Secondly, it is essential to have something in common with people you want to be friends with, and by not knowing the host accent you would have a little chance to find similar features and hobbies to share with host people, thus you would feel depressed, isolated, and frustrated. To illustrate, tourists who had an experience visiting Russia, mentioned that at first the Russian people seemed to be inhospitable and unfriendly, but soon after learning some Russian words and sentences, they could communicate easily and socialize with them well. Not being able to speak new country’s accent can also bring about some practical problems regarding someone’s daily life. Sometimes you need to share your requirement clearly to tackle the issues you have faced, but you cannot interact with others easily and it might worsen your situation, for example, when you are visiting a doctor you. should clearly define your problem and your symptoms in their own word, otherwise you would not be given proper service and you might get in trouble. In conclusion, I believe that not being able to talk in your host country’s language, may cause major problems in your life, specially in terms of communication and daily life.