Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

It’s considered that the easiest method to reduce the amount of consumed sugar contained in food and beverages is increasing the level of prices for products. I completely disagree with this opinion and suppose that teaching people, especially the young generation, about a healthy diet is the more effective way. Firstly, I believe that the rise in prices causes more revenue for the companies, which produce sugar-containing goods, to a greater extent, and, to a much lesser, lead to a stop or decrease consumption of sugary food and drink. For example, a similar situation is occurring in the area of tobacco sales in Uzbekistan. Through the decades the cost of cigarettes has been rising, and it increased twice only in the last two years, meanwhile, the percentage of smokers grew from 9 to 16 in the same period according to data from the World Health Organization. That is why it is more important to choose a complex way that makes a clear understanding for consumers about harmful effects on their health than to look only at the increasing costs. Secondly, high prices can take a serious hit on the wallet of individuals with low levels of income, which, in its turn, may lead not to encourage the population to refuse sweets but to look for cheaper and poor-quality goods. However, for instance, such types of substitutes can damage an individual’s health much more. To conclude, I strongly believe that widespread knowledge among the population about how our bodies work and which nutrition is useful for them is more beneficial than the growth of cost because it makes people motivated, despite the fact that this path is longer, but ultimately it is more powerful in solving the problem to reduce sugar consuming.