Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays students yearn to study additional subjects instead of just learning about the main courses, while some contend that it is crucial to focus on a qualification. Both views could result in benefits for students. However, in my opinion, the advantages of taking additional subjects outweigh that of focusing on a specific qualification. On the one hand, students can have more knowledge if they take additional subjects. For instance, students who come from the biology department might want to take both chemistry and pesticide subjects which are provided by the plant protection department. In order to get a whole understanding of plant biology, one of the main subjects, it is vital to consider some additional courses related to it. Besides, having broader knowledge can lead to an expansion of job serendipity. In other words, students could have a plus point when they compete with other colleagues to get higher positions. On the other hand, the advantages of being focused on a qualification cannot be neglected. Having focus on the main subjects can be propitious for students ' productivity. This is because the human brain will be more efficient and effective in thinking about a response from a subject instead of many. As a result, it can lead to higher productivity in the learning process. Moreover, students who have to take many different subjects usually face some drawbacks when they do deep learning. The latest research showed that people who learn only about the main subject could achieve higher grades than those of learn both (main and additional subjects). In conclusion, even though both notions have benefits, giving a chance to study other subjects could be more beneficial for students in the future. I suggest that students should have a chance to take additional subjects to get more knowledge and a good career.