Some countries invest in specialized sports facilities for top athletes but not for the average person. Is this a positive or a negative development?

In recent years, an increasing number of countries have started funding sports structures for top-notch athletes, leaving the average individual behind. This kind of shift has a negative impact on society as a whole. In the following paragraphs, I will justify my point of view. Doubtless, famous athletes represent their nations in international competitions, however, the money allocated to them may not always be worth it. The amount of hard work required to take first place is enormous, and sports figures often lack discipline, as frequently being in the limelight leads to star fever. For instance, Conor McGregor had been an excellent fighter in his weight category, before attracting excessive attention from media sources, and, as a result, losing his grip. Moreover, sports facilities are expensive to maintain, as the equipment needs a regular checkup, resulting in increased expenditure. The assets invested in these structures could be directed to spheres, like education or finding solutions for environmental problems, which have far more benefits than the former one. Furthermore, prioritizing sportsmen, and leaving an average person on the second plan, could establish a hierarchy. The consequence of this is a crack in relationships between the government and its people, leading to numerous problems, such as civil war. Therefore, the results of actions, the seriousness of which can't be overlooked, indicate budget allocation is a core issue, and it should be distributed wisely. In conclusion, ideologically it seems fair, that each realm should be financed equally without putting a stronger emphasis on athletes, the reality of the situation is more complex. Perhaps, we should all simply strive to do the best work we can and not concern ourselves with such questions.