Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Humans have been working in various professions historically so that they can earn a living for themselves and for their families. Several workers give prolonged hours for their job and end up having very limited time for extra activities. In this essay, I will argue that more time at work would certainly make financial sense and additionally improve one's expertise in the field, but it would come at the expense of health deterioration and significantly reduce overall happiness. Working overtime surely has some benefits in terms of money and/or perks. When a staff overworks, he/she receives extra remuneration, maybe even a better rate per hour than a normal one. This additional effort may also be taken into account during promotions. Moreover, when a person gives more hours to his/her job, it is going to make him/her more knowledgeable in their craft, opening even better job opportunities. However, those benefits come at a price. Individuals working for longer hours, especially sedentary workers are shown to have many physical and mental health issues in the long run, for example, back pain, headache, burnout, and depression. How is one going to enjoy his/her hard-earned success if he/she is not mentally and physically fit? Furthermore, since a large chunk of their time is spent on work, they have little or none for other activities, such as socialising, bonding with loved ones, and vacationing, resulting in a lower level of happiness and fulfilment. In conclusion, although for some people, overtime work is appealing, in terms of income and/or expertise, I believe it comes at a cost, the cost being poor health, unhappiness, and dissatisfaction. People should stop working overtime in their offices and participate more in activities they enjoy and have experiences and memories, which will make more sense in the long run.