In the developed world, the average life expectation is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

People in industrialized nations can expect to live longer than ever before. Although there will be some negative consequences associated with this shift, societies can take steps to diminish these effects. The ageing population will bring about rising costs to society. As citizens age and grow weaker, society’s tax burden increases. If a large amount of the population is elderly and retired, pension costs and taxes will increase, thus creating a burden for younger tax-paying individuals. Additionally, older members of society will require more specialized care as their health worsens, which will bring about higher medical costs due to increased demand. (70 words) However, there are some steps that both the government and individuals can take to mitigate these problems. Firstly, an increase in the retirement age would offset increasing payments from older generations. If people are able to retire later, the age for receiving a government-funded state pension would rise. Additionally, this extra time would allow the ageing populace to pass on knowledge and help train younger workers in their respective fields. (70 words) Promoting programs and initiatives in the healthcare industry could also alleviate potential risks from the aforementioned problems. If the healthcare industry prepares for the increase in the ageing population, the potential problem of higher taxes could be avoided. For example, by promoting advances in medical programs, elderly people may be able to live with health standards and contribute to society for a longer period of time. These medical advances would also help future generations get older. (81 words) There are various measures can be taken in order to offset potential problems from the ageing community. It is crucial that both individuals and governments work together in this venture.