Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development

he modern day mobile phones have intruded childhood leading to hours spent on them. The carefully crafted technology along with the accelerating network connection and availability has led these kids to be hooked forever unless they are provided with necessary supervision by adults. In this essay, I'll be discussing the positive and negative outcomes of excessive usage even though in my opinion the negative impacts are much higher than the positive ones. On one hand, technology allows a child's curiosity to roam around the internet to find study materials, tutorials and flashcards which could potentially enhance their learning ability. For example YouTube platform has a lot of channels which provide tutorials free of charge. However, the legitimacy of these tutorials is still under question even though few of them might be useful. Hence, it provides convenience of finding necessary information technology making it easier to achieve their daily educational goals with minimal hassle. On the other hand, this information must be strictly monitored and supervised by adults in order to make sure that these youngsters don't get access to inappropriate information. Spending hours and hours staring at the screen with minimal physical activity can hinder the mood and growth of these children. Games and adult content could interfere with the brain development of kids potentially leading to aggressive and abusive behaviour. In my opinion, I would suggest limiting the usage and monitoring the device usage is an ultimate necessity that these devices bring more positive outcomes rather than being misused to waste the hours spent on these devices.