In many countries, people incresingly talk about money such as how much they earn or how much they pay for things in their daily conversations. Why? Is this a positive or negative treand?

It has become increasingly pervasive in recent years for individuals to discuss money matters on a daily basis. In my opinion, this is due to changes in what individuals consider polite and is a decidedly negative trend on the whole. The reason people now talk about money is that is socially acceptable. In past generations, discussing money was considered “in poor taste” and most people were reserved in order to not appear arrogant or disparate. Today, many social norms from the past have disappeared and this includes ones related to the discussion of one’s finances. This enables the average person to discuss money with friends and family as a way of coping with anxieties about the future or insecurities about their own status in society. For instance, it is common for some wealthy individuals to show off by talking about their investments, property, and so on to impress friends and elevate their own self-esteem. Discussing money is overall a negative trend as it exacerbates an unhealthy mindset. There are situations where it can be positive, such as when discussing potential investments and helping friends. These contexts are the exceptions, however, as most people simply talk about money to relieve their own nervousness or as a form of bragging. Once a person becomes addicted to the minor dopamine bursts that accompany seeking self-pity or self-aggrandizement, they will have a difficult time transitioning to more productive and fun topics of conversation. Over time, a person may ironically increase their anxieties and insecurities by seeking to cope with them. In conclusion, people talk about their finances as it is no longer considered rude and it is an unheathly habit. It is better to talk about to more important topics.