The threat of nuclear weapons maintains world peace. Nuclear power provides cheap and clean energy. The benefits of nuclear technology far outweigh the disadvantages. Do you agree or disagree?

The most hazardous technology ever created by humanity, nuclear power, is thought to be capable of destroying all life on Earth. Although nuclear energy plays an imperative role in contributing to the production and development of society, it has had many consequential effects on the environment. I disagree that its benefits could prevail over its drawbacks. On the one hand, the initial application of nuclear applicability was for military purposes, such as generating nuclear weapons or nuclear bombs. In other words, the government can utilize this high-risk source to provoke a brutal war. A prime illustration of the juggernaut of nuclear weapons can be seen in the previous century, when World War II escalated to its peak intensity. Two atomic bombs were delivered to destroy two cities in Japan by the United States. This horrifying event resulted in thousands of deaths and the remnant of buildings. On the other hand, nuclear power is now virtually no longer a threat to the existence of mankind because of the peace treaty. Furthermore, it is being exploited to provide energy in many aspects of our lives. However, that source of energy has been substantiated to detrimentally impinge on the quality of the environment. For example, in China, Beijing’s air quality reached the highest alert level due to the exhaust from vast nuclear factories in the nearby area. It is reckoned that breathing unmasked in the air of Beijing is equivalent to smoking 18 cigarette packs per day. In conclusion, though nowadays the usage of nuclear energy for industrial purposes could somehow appease people’s anguish over loss, this source of energy is not less harmful, as it severely damages the environment.