Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve the growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

It is argued that the gasoline price should be raised to control the growth of traffic and the pollution that is caused by it. I am completely disagreeing with the proposal as there are various better ways to tackle this problem. I do not think increasing gasoline price is the most beneficial method to ease this situation for three reasons. Firstly, many people rely on their cars to make ends meet, and increasing gas prices will add a lot of unnecessary financial burdens to their lives. For example, uber eats delivery drivers' can only use their own cars to do the work, with an increment of petrol oil, there will be a huge impact on their income. Secondly, the car industry will be strongly affected as it reduces people's desire to make a purchase of a vehicle, and may even, lead to a disruption of the global economy. Thirdly, if people cannot afford the gas price, they will perhaps abandon their car, leaving it in the landfill, causing even more pollution than there already is. Among numerous solutions, I consider developing a more eco-friendly, convenient, and free public transit system will be the most efficient way of solving these problems. For instance, many people complain that public transportation cannot get to a lot of places and is often delayed. If the local government can solve these problems, with proper promotion, the transit system can definitely attract more people to use it. Making the transit free or even much lower than the gasoline fee can offer a huge help as well, as the ticket price is higher than the petrol price accounts for one of the biggest concerns for the people who choose to drive their own cars. To reduce the pollution issue, we can make the transportation vehicles all electrical so that there won't be any greenhouse gases emitted harming the environment. In conclusion, I would argue that making people pay more for petrol oil is not the most effective solution as there is a variety of measures that can mitigate the problems.