Scientists believe that computers will become more intelligent than human beings. Some people find it is positive while others think it is a negative development. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

The advent of artificial intelligence has brought many advancements to computer technology and scientists predict that these computers may become more intelligent than human beings someday. While some warn that computers may eventually lessen the need for human workers, I still assert that this is a positive development overall considering how they are less error prone than humans. To begin with, the concern that computers will make human labourers redundant is valid to a degree. As they are not hampered by any physical or mental limits, they are able to rapidly undertake most tasks at a rate faster than humans. Realizing these advantages, many companies have begun to steadily replace human workers to improve efficiency in their production process. This can be seen in some convenience stores in developed nations where human cashiers have been replaced with self-checkout machines that aid customers in purchasing their items faster. Consequently, some see this as a negative development as it directly threatens job opportunities for less skilled workers. However, computers gaining more intelligence than humans may help reduce mistakes. As computers are programmed with algorithms to accomplish particular tasks repetitively, they are likely to make far fewer errors. Therefore, many companies utilize these machines to ensure a steady production of their goods while maintaining quality standards. This is evident with the use of sorting robots in the logistics industry in China. Machines there are tasked with precisely assigning items to their designated parcels and they can do this at a rate of 18,000 per hour with a much lower margin of error in comparison to that of humans. Thus, computers gaining superior intelligence over humans is a positive development as it improves product quality and facilitates business growth. In conclusion, despite the legitimate concerns related to computers curtailing the need for human workers, I contend that this phenomenon is a positive development since computers are less susceptible to errors generally. Once human beings are aware of the challenges computers pose, they can take action to control the risks presented by such disruptive technologies.