Social media is gradually replacing in-person face-to-face contact with many people worldwide. Do the benefits of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

It is no doubt true that social media are getting more popular and replacing physical interaction between people. In my opinion, the advantages of this phenomenon far outweigh the disadvantages in equal measure. The main benefit of the trend towards utilizing social media is that it we can keep in touch with beloved ones without geographical distance. Because in the modern era, everyone has their own career, they couldn’t stay at home with their family or hang out to coffee with their friends on a daily basis, hence, this is a good way to connect with others. Secondly, social media offers a variety of internet platforms to serve the demand of people, such as Instagram, Snapchat, and Facebook. Moreover, these platforms provide a wide range of amenities that allow us to make calls, send messages, and do photo edits, which can enhance the mental life of everyone. Furthermore, there are many internet-based platforms that allow us to find new friends, or take part in classes without being at the exact location. A typical example is that we were all studying at Zoom meetings during the Corona pandemic. This means if we didn’t have social media, educational activities would not be evolved. Despite the positives mentioned above, it seems to me that accessing social networks excessively is a negative development for various reasons. On top of that, lacking real communication limit the time for us to meet with people in person, which leads to relationships could be demolished. Moreover, youngsters have a tendency to be addicted to social media, they spend more time surfing the internet than in their real life. For example, they prefer making friends from over the world rather than their neighbors, as a result, reducing local social interaction. In conclusion, social media provide us with a wide range of merits, helping us connect with everyone. However, real interaction also plays an essential role to maintain the relationship between us.