Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (forexample, through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent times advanced hardware is being used increasingly often to observe humans ' behaviour. Most of the times, they are clueless that this is happening. While this technology has numerous advantages, it has just as many disadvantages. This essay will focus on advantages and disadvantages of human observation, and I will provide my own opinion on the matter at the end. On the one hand, surveillance can help make the world a better place. Firstly, it can reduce the number of committed crimes. Using security cameras, the police can determine the rulebreaker and give them a deserving punishment. For instance, the credit system in China is reliant on security cameras and AI. Whenever a person commits a crime, the AI detects them, compares their face with everyone registered in the database, and punishes them with a decrease in credit score. Secondly, in case a person goes missing, law enforcement could pinpoint their exact location using their cellphones. On the other hand, this is a huge privacy concern. First and foremost, many phone apps are spying on us. In fact, every app does that to some extent, and several companies sell this data such as our recent search history, websites we visited and our personal information to third parties, which is an enormous privacy concern. Not only that, but the person using these apps is completely clueless that their phone is spying on them. Last but not least, cybercriminals can break into the system with the purpose of blackmailing people, asking money for important documents and information or outright delete information with no way of restoring them. As a result, a large amount of people can lose their work documents, or important family photos. In conclusion, I think that devices used to monitor people's behaviour has major downsides in terms of privacy, although it is undeniable that this technology could establish peace in countries.