Some people think that too much money has been spent looking after and repairing old buildings, so we should knock down old buildings and build modern ones instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, some sectors of society believe that huge investments are being made in order to repair and conserve old buildings, which brings the idea that it may be better to demolish them and replace them with modern ones. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this, as demolishing and rebuilding a new building would cost much more money, without thinking about what would governments do to relocate residents in the meantime. To begin with, if we are considering cultural patrimony, usually they are old buildings because they are part of our history, which does not make sense at all to demolish them as we would be knocking down our own history and culture. For instance, there are beautiful and enormous historical buildings in Europe that are now museums, being critical to preserving cultural knowledge. This means that taking these buildings down because they are too old and expensive, would not make any sense for humankind's cultural preservation. In addition to this, if we are thinking of residential buildings, it is a fact that the majority of the buildings are old, which is equal to demolishing hundreds of homes, which implies much more money than taking care of them, without considering that all the people who live there need to be relocated in the meantime. For example, it is known that Russia and other ex-soviet countries still concentrate an enormous number of buildings from the middle and late 1900s, which conducts to a massive population living in these places, being impossible to make a complete renewal for such a population. This clarifies how crazy would be to have this process done. In conclusion, even if some people think that looking after and repairing old buildings cost too much money, it is not as expensive compared to demolishing and remaking them. Just thinking about the massive investment that this would take and the people who would need to be relocated, gives an idea of the complexity of this matter. That is why I believe that it is preferable to keep investing in their conservation while other buildings are being constructed in anther available places.