In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an aging population creats problem foe governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extend do the advantages of having an aging population outweigh the disadvantages?

With advancements in medical fields, life expectancy has increased and we can see a huge amount of elderly in every nation. Some believe that these senior citizens are a burden on society, while others argue that they are very valuable to us. In this essay, I will discuss both views and clarify how the government by making infrastructures can benefit from this group. Those in favour of making obstacles by elderlies believe that this group is not productive. Therefore, not only cannot they be beneficial for society, but also they enhance the pressure on us by allocating a budget for support and rehabilitation of them. For instance, in Germany, which is one of the oldest countries in Europe by almost zero per cent of the birth rate, 35% of the government's income should be dedicated to seniors which is a large proportion. On the other hand, the opposite group insist on the spiritual value of elderly people. They explain the positive consequences of this group since they can guide us in to correct way. To illustrate, seniors have had priceless experiences during their life and can share them with us to learn new things. For example, based on a study conducted in the psychology department of Sidney University, 56% of students announced that they were interested in learning from their grandparents and found it beneficial for their lives. To sum up, based on the arguments cited above, despite the fact that elderlies are not productive as youngsters, they can have a positive influence as a powerful resource and the government can play a critical role. The government should strengthen the infrastructure in order to promote quality of life in this group. In addition, they should educate the younger generation to consider them beneficial not a burden for wasting money.