More and more people no longer read newspapers or watch TV programs to get news. They get news about the world through the internet. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, crowds usually learn news around the world through the Internet instead of reading newspapers or watching TV programs. There exists a debate if this is a positive or negative change. From my perspective, I am inclined to stand with the proponents since the tendency is an advantage of technical development. A discussion of this issue as well as my thoughts will be highlighted in the write-up. Initially, one of the main arguments in its favour is that information can be updated more instantly through Internet news than in traditional ways. Most important of all, there is no geography restriction. As smartphones become common in daily life, people can get news anytime and everywhere. It is critical for some emergency situations. For example, when a catastrophe happens, an urgent notice for citizens is considerably pivotal especially in rescue operations because the government can distribute strategies easily. At the other end of the spectrum, audiences are prone to reading news from various media, which means the information will be revealed from several angles. It is helpful to elaborate on the truth. Since readers are capable of collecting different points of view, they will have their own judgments. Especially in the spread of incorrect messages, diverse reports help individuals to make decisions through more details. Therefore,the convenience of the Internet improves the diversity of societies. In conclusion, according to the aforementioned, the benefits of Internet news cannot be denied as the world is connected in a convenient channel. Moreover, it provides people opportunities to delve into an issue in a comprehensive manner due to multiple options of media. Thus, the virtue of the phenomenon outweighs its demerits.