In the future it may be necessary for us to live on other planets. For this reason, some people believe that we should spend money now to research other planets, such as Mars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The Earth has always been the only planet where humans, animals and plants could be able to survive through many eons of time. However, some people opine that budget should be spent on researching other asteroids to live in the future such as Mars, meanwhile, in my opinion, gathering information about planets is a positive aspect but focusing on solving Earth's problems sounds more realistic. To begin with, humanity is currently facing serious ecological issues that need to be solved as soon as possible such as the phenomenon of climate change or environmental pollution which adversely affect humanity everywhere in the world and should take priority over other issues. In fact, the increasing consumption of natural resources such as gas, oil and coal has resulted in numerous amounts of carbon emissions being released into the atmosphere, which degrades air quality and accelerates climate change. In addition, the consequences of these phenomena are very serious as it affects human life, for example, people may suffer from dangerous diseases such as cancer or respiratory diseases or people are suffering from extreme natural phenomena such as floods, soil erosion or erratic heat. Moreover, prioritizing the investment of budgets in the discovery of other habitable planets is a very expensive undertaking and no scientist can affirm with certainty that it will succeed in finding signs of life for people on these new planets. Indeed, if the study of these new planets is not successful, humanity has wasted a huge amount of money that could be spent on more real activities such as planting trees to create forests or investing in community funds to support patients with serious diseases. On the other hand, when we invest in these urgent issues, we do not need to find or move to another planet because then our earth has improved and become a prosperous planet where people can live in peace and contentment. In short, although spending a lot of money on space research is quite helpful in finding new life for humans, I firmly assert that eliminating environmental problems and keeping the Earth healthy for life is the smartest use of the budget.