Some people think that zoos are cruel and should be closed down. Others believe that zoos are useful in protecting wild animal. Discuss both points of views and give your opinion.

In recent years, the protection of wild creatures is becoming a great topic of concern. Some people argue that zoos are cruel and should be shut down, while others claim that zoos play a crucial role in the protection of wild animals. I personally believe that zoos are beneficial to wildlife and I will outline the reasons in the following essays. To begin with, some people assert that zoos are rude to restrict animals and should not exist. This is because those wild animals have the right to live with freedom. In captivity, animals can't perform their original behaviour and are forced to leave their native habitat. This may lead to mental problems and massive stress. For instance, there are cases that they harm themselves and even try suicide. Subsequently, zoos are constructed for profit instead of for practical purposes. Creatures, hence, aren't treated properly and might be abused. If zoos are closed then the detrimental effects would never arise. On the other hand, some argue that zoos play a significant role to preserve wild creatures. Firstly, zoos can not only protect endangered animals but also make them capable of reproducing unlike the ones in the forest who must live a in poor environment and face terrible weather conditions. Additionally, zoos provide educational opportunities for ordinary people to observe wildlife. Without zoos, we couldn't look at these animals at a short distance and may lose a chance to learn knowledge about animals. To sum up, although, some animals undoubtedly suffer from zoos, I strongly believe that the existence of zoos is positive and necessary.