Some people say that television is useful for education, while others say that it is useful only for entertainment. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, while many people hold the view that television is useful for educating people, some others believe that it is useful for entertainment purposes. In my opinion, I think it is essential to play entertainment programs on TV. On the one hand, residents can improve their knowledge through educational programs on TV. TV programs contain a large amount of knowledge that can teach the residents more about their surrounding life. Watching educational programs for relaxing purposes can broaden their mind about every area of life such as history, wildlife, and different cultures in the world. For instance, there is a golden period from about 9 pm to 9.30 pm when broadcasters often show many kinds of educational programs to viewers. On the other hand, because television maintains considerable entertainment programs or game shows that are available for people of all ages, they bring happiness and effective feelings to the viewers after a long day under pressure or working hard. Therefore, this is a fact that TV is also a useful tool for people to reduce stress and recharge for the next day. For example, a lecture from a magazine in the UK showed that the number of entertainment programs is about 65% higher than the number of academic ones. Finally, in my point of view, playing entertainment programs on TV has more plus points. Because of being suitable for everyone, it is an opportunity to spend time with the resident’s family. Television gives them the time to be with their family and talk together after a long day. This doesn't exist in academic programs because it is not available for some young residents and they won't be interested in seeing those programs with their family. To conclude, I think while television should show more entertainment programs which are useful for everyone, they also should show academic ones moderately.