Many people believe that educational standards have declined in recent times, particularly in the areas of literacy and numeracy. Discuss the causes of this problem and offer some possible solutions to it.

There is a widely help perception in many parts of the world today that educational standards are in decline. In the following essay, I aim to identify the sources of this problem as well as some viable solutions to it. From my perspective, one of the most significant obstacles to learning in schools today is lack of discipline. While the teachers of previous generations were able to maintain order through the use of corporal punishment, such methods are no longer permitted. This has left many teachers powerless to control unruly students. The resultant misbehaviour and inattention on the part of students seriously undermines the learning process. If educational standards are to be raised, therefore, it is crucial that classroom discipline be restored. Admittedly, there are numerous alternatives to corporal punishment, which is frowned upon by many these days. Nonetheless, I remain firmly convinced that physical forms of punishment are often the most effective method of behaviour management. Another major contributing factor in the sub-standard academic achievement of today’s students is the undue attention that many schools give to “soft” subjects like music, art and drama. Interesting though they may be, these subjects simply serve to distract students from more important and practical subjects like mathematics and English. The more time a student spends learning how to paint, for instance, the less time they spend learning how to read. In order to improve educational outcomes, therefore, we must ensure that core subjects are not neglected. In reality, of course, this is a vast oversimplification of the issue. Solutions such as the reintroduction of corporal punishment would be problematic in themselves. However, I believe that the hard way is sometimes the best way.