Nowadays people use bicycles less as a form of transport. Why is this the case? What can we do to encourage people to use bicycles more?

The declining tendency to use bicycles as a means of transport is a controversial topic today. While this trend could be ascribed to the efficiency of fossil fuel vehicles and the scarcity of bicycle lanes, this complication can be mitigated by imposing higher taxes for other transport and implementing an incentive scheme. The reasons for the decrease in cycling have emerged. One of the reasons is that commuters who travel a lot find it more suitable and convenient to use cars instead of bicycles on long journeys due to their speed and efficiency. Another convincing factor is that governments invest in infrastructure such as highways for fossil fuel transport more than lanes for bicyclists. This leads to the downsizing of bicycling users and poses a detrimental danger to people who must ride in car lanes. However, several solutions could be adopted to tackle the problems associated with the lack of bicycling. The primary key is that authorities should implement an incentive scheme to stimulate people to use bicycles. This can be a reduction of parking fees for bikes or the construction of bike lanes in a metropolitan city; for example, New York City's government at a discount for bike fees to reduce the incidence of traffic congestion. Another solution is imposing higher taxes on other means of transportation to encourage people to use human-powered vehicles. Thus, citizens realize the convenience of travelling by bicycle because of the development of the cycling path system. In summary, despite the lack of cycle lanes and the tendency to use other vehicles, remedies such as a scheme or tax increase should be addressed to tackle this situation. It is recommended that authorities should be responsible for constructing cycling facilities.