Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later. Some people think that having these people to give a talk to school students is the best way to tell them about dangers of committing a crime. Do you agree or disagree?

Crime education for school students has long been a major topic of concern in society. There is a common belief that talks by ex-prisoners should be held at school to inform students of the threats when a crime is committed. While I accept that this practice is beneficial in a few ways, I believe there are many better measures of crime prevention. There are certain benefits of having ex-prisoners talking to students about the hazards that are associated with crimes. The most obvious benefit is to educate students about the general knowledge of crimes. Those who committed a crime surely have gathered knowledge about crimes and the common motives of crimes, not only from their wrongdoings but also from communication with other criminals. From this, students may learn the early signs of crimes, what they should be aware of to enhance self-regulation to prevent crimes. In addition, ex-prisoners are those who underwent a long process of imprisonment and rehabilitation, so their life-stories are often a great source of real-life experiences of not only what prisoners are deprived of but also how regretful they feel. These stories, once verbalised, may deter students from carrying out a crime. However, I am convinced that there are better solutions to prevent crimes. The most important measure is to introduce criminology as a subject at school, with both compulsory taught lessons and student-centred seminars. While life-stories of ex-prisoners are often biased, criminology knowledge is scientifically proven based on a large set of data and is much more reliable than a few single persons’ stories. With this method, students can learn all the necessary knowledge about crimes through the lens of science and therefore have a holistic view on crimes and crime prevention. The other measure is to film the harsh daily lives of prisoners and show it to school students. Ex-prisoners ’ talks can be persuasive, but films with vivid images are be much more visually attractive to students and thus have a greater deterrent impact. To conclude, I am of the opinion that although talks by ex-prisoners are of good values to school students, there are stronger crime -prevention measures such as the introduction of criminology as a school subject.