The money spent by governments on space programmes would be better spent on vital public services such as schools and hospitals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Governments in some countries spend a considerable amount of their budgets on space exploration programmes. I completely agree with the idea that these are a waste of money, and the funds should be going to public services. There are several reasons why space programmes should be abandoned. Firstly, it is a huge cost to develop new astronomical technologies, to train astronauts, scientists, and other staffs that are included in the missions, and to set up the facilities and equipment. Secondly, it’s mostly a competition for politicians to show their powers and the strength of their countries, and it does nothing good for average citizens. Finally, the taxpayers’ money is all wasted when a project goes wrong, also, it can cost astronauts their lives when even if the tiniest technological error occurred. For example, the Challenger shuttle disaster showed us how dangerous it is to conduct a space travelling mission, and in my opinion, it is not worth the risk. I believe it is a better option to spend more money on vital public services instead. Since it is much cheaper to train doctors, teachers, police, and other public service workers than it is to train astronauts or the scientists and engineers who work on space projects. In addition, public services can benefit every member in this society, because it has a large positive impact on our daily lives. For instance, all of us use infrastructures such as schools, roads, hospitals, and police services. Furthermore, by enhancing our public services, we can reduce poverty as more money can be used to help people who are in need or suffering from poor, leading to a better and more quality of life for everyone. In conclusion, I agree that the government should invest more money in essential public services instead of space missions that cannot benefit their citizens directly.