Topic: Some people think that too much money has been spent looking after and repairing old buildings, so we should knock down old buildings and build modern ones instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In general, urban development is one of the popular issues in a place. Some citizens believe that spending too much financial resources looking after and repairing old buildings is not suitable, and knocking down old buildings and building modern ones instead would be better. In my opinion, I partly agree with that. First of all, looking after and repairing old buildings needs too much financial resources which is not cost effective. Repairing historical buildings is a high cost project, especially to repair the buildings in the urban city. It requires a high safety quality during construction, including to maintain the main construct. Repairing old buildings usually needs a professor group to plan the whole looking after and repairing proposal. Looking after and repairing old buildings is a higher cost than constructing a new modern building. Hence, knocking down old buildings and building modern ones instead is cost effective. Moreover, knocking down old buildings and building modern ones instead would be helpful to society development. Most old buildings have 5-10 floors only, and can not accommodate so many people. These are not using the land-value effectively. If they remove the old buildings, and build modern skyscrapers. Which can use the urban-land more as well and effectively. The government also can resolve the housing problem in this case. Hence, knocking down old buildings and building modern ones instead is using land-resource productively. However, some voices argue that those old buildings are cultural heritage, and should be protected and repaired. For instance, a lot of British style building in Hong Kong Island were repaired and protected as well. Even those of the historical buildings located in the CBD, which will not affect the economic development. In fact, Hong Kong has to evaluate them, they prefer to repair and protect the high historica-value historic-value buildings. If the government repaired all of the old buildings, it would waste lots of financial resources. Therefore, a number of rich historical-value buildings should be repaired and protected. In conclusion, some of the old buildings should be repaired and protected according to their historical-value. At the same time, the government should spend the financial resources and land resources effectively.