17.Rich countries often give money to poorer countries, but it does not solve poverty. Therefore, develop countries should give other types of help to poorer countries rather than financial aid. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Wealthier nations are in great efforts to support poorer ones in solving famine by providing them with financial support. However, it is of the opinion that this type of help does not work, therefore, more effective alternatives are required. Personally, I am inclined to agree with this notion. On the one hand, it is undeniable that financial aid can provide immediate relief in times of crisis, like natural disasters and health emergencies. It can help save lives and mitigate suffering. For example, locking down during the COVID-19 pandemic has exhausted the global economy, especially in underdeveloped and developing countries. Thus, money received from rich nations can help citizens from poorer ones meet basic needs such as clothes, food, medicine and accommodation. Additionally, in some cases, monetary assistance can help poorer countries develop basic infrastructure, including building roads, hospitals and schools, contributing to long-term development. On the other hand, I believe that poorer nations should be provided with other effective types of support to address the complex issue of poverty. Firstly, it is essential to have a quality education which is considered a sustainable pathway to economic development. A quality education can equip individuals with the necessary skills and knowledge that can improve their lives and contribute to their communities. When children access education, they can break down the cycle of poverty by securing their job opportunities and making informed decisions about health and well-being. It is expected by the United Nations that the GDP of poor regions may increase by 70% if all children can access education. Secondly, rich nations can transfer modern technology to poorer ones as a form of support. It is true that the adoption of advanced machines in the farming sector can boost agricultural productivity. This in turn can help them not only secure domestic food safety but also promote exporting, leading to an increase in overall income. To illustrate, a statistical report from the World Bank revealed that thanks to modern technology applied in the agricultural sector, the crop yields of Southern Asia have increased by 6 times during the last 40 years, contributing to the significant reduction of poverty in this area. In conclusion, although financial aid can solve the problem of poverty to some extent, I firmly assert that providing poorer nations with quality education and modern technology is a more sustainable solution, helping these countries overcome impoverishment in the long term.