‘It is important for foreigners to know something about the history and culture of the country they live in.’ Discuss. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, a lot of people choose to leave their home- country and move abroad, looking for better job opportunities or to get a better education. For either, it is truly important for them to learn as much as they can about the country they want to move to, especially the history and the culture. Knowing these aspects, it will be much easier for them to fit in the society. Moreover, they could even get more opportunities that will ultimately improve their life quality. To begin with, having a basic knowledge about the culture of the country you live in, can make natives respect you more, as everyone is proud of their own traditions and love when foreigners respect and promote them. For example, when my mother emigrated to Greece, she already had a gread knowledge about the tradition there, and the locals respected her for that, helping her to blend in, including her in various social groups. Furthermore, knowing about a country's past and culture can help foreigners get more job opportunities, in a larger range of working fields, as every country has its own ethics and customs that should be taken into account by the foreigners. For example, when my father moved to Turkey, he got a job at a restaurant. Knowing how to prepare different turkish dishes was the thing that got him more job opportunities as well as a good reputation amongst locals, as the time passed. In conclusion, learning about a country's past and customs is crucial for a foreigner who wants to integrate as fast as he or she could. That's how, in my opinion, you can gain respect and understanding from the natives, as well as more opporunities, regarding your job, as an immigrant.