Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Nowadays, there is no doubt that quite a number of working people spent more time in the office than in entertainment and family. In my opinion, that can be both beneficial and harmful for the individual. On the positive side, working long hours can be beneficial in the following aspects. Obviously, people are likely to improve their financial condition. Since more work finished may bring them higher income, allowing them to support themselves and their families. Also, working long hours can lead to better career development. This is because people can master and expand their skills more quickly. Therefore, they are more likely to get a promotion. However, there are certainly negative influences of constantly working overtime. Firstly, too much workload can damage their health condition. Without adequate rest to allow the body to recover from exhaustion, many organs, such as the heart, liver, backbone and so on, may become diseased in a long turn. For example, it is not uncommon to see the news of someone’s sudden death in an overtime job. Another disadvantage is that the interpersonal relationship can be affected. Since long working time leaves employees with less leisure time, they are more likely to lose connection with their friends and families. In that case, some of them would develop a lonely lifestyle. In conclusion, although overtime work may bring more income and more opportunities for promotion, it is not worth it if it costs physical or mental health. The public should pay more attention to the claim of salarymen, and urge the authority to formulate policies to protect their basic rights.