Some cities allow their residents to transform public parks and open space to small farms, to grow fruit and vegetables. Do the advantages of this approach outweigh its disadvantages?

Nowadays, in several urban areas around the world, public parks are being turned into gardens where citizens are able to plant kinds of greens and fruits. While there are some drawbacks associated with changing public open spaces to individual farms, I believe the main benefits are more substantial. On the one hand,a potential disadvantage of public green spaces being changed into farmlands may decline the public area in the cities. Parks and other green spaces belong to all residents, not certain people. In addition, this change leads to dwellers having limited access to public parks where people benefit from fresh air and relaxation. Another perceived disadvantage is the ugliness faced by the cities. Public parks are more likely to become ugly and spoiled due to agricultural activities. For example, to plant vegetables and some fruits, wet and muddy land is needed, resulting in the dirty face of cities. On the other hand, a primary advantage of transforming parks into farms is creating job opportunities and earning income for local people. For instance, In Japan, the government allows their residents to use certain parts of parks to plant fruits which brings about an increase in earning money for their residents and improves their standard of living for them. A further benefit is having easy access to fresh fruits and vegetables with high quality. Fresh foods that are full of types of vitamins play a vital role in individual health, and easy access to them leads to an increase in public health. In conclusion, it is true that allowing to change parks to individual farmlands would have demerits. However, in my view, its positive effects in terms of earning income and increasing public health override the disadvantages.