Today much of the food people eat gets transported from farms that are thousands of miles away. Some people believe it would be better for the environment and the economy if people only consumed food produced by local farmers. Would the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is argued by some individuals that it would be in the best interest of the ecosystem and financial state of the people if they eat locally produced food than that which is transported from a long distance. This essay will outline some benefits which are, the promotion of healthy food and reduction in the cost of farm produce, which outweighed the disadvantages that is a lack of some varieties of food On the one hand, the consumption of products from local farmers is healthier than that brought from afar because it is fresh from the farm and it still maintains its nutritional value. For example, it is said from various studies that an orange start losing its vitamin as soon as it is plucked from its tree, so it losses more vitamins when moved too far away before consumption, thereby giving less or no nutrients to consumers. This is also applicable to most fruits and vegetables, therefore it is necessary to eat them immediately after harvesting to gain most of the nutrition, Moreover farm produce will be relatively cheap for the citizens, as it's cultivated within the surroundings and easily accessible. There will be no extra charges on every commodity as regards transportation fees. Consequently, making use of only Crops cultivated in one's varsity can result in a shortage of other varieties which are not produced locally, which could result in malnutrition and making the population at risk of certain illnesses such as diabetes and marasmus. For example, some locals farm only crops rich in carbohydrates, which will be their only source of a meal if they must utilize local production, hence making them lack other sources of a nutrient, which the body needs for development, and will result in them being malnourished and giving rise to opportunistic infections due to low immune. In conclusion, despite the negative aspects of the shortage of various kinds of meals, it is necessary for locals to consume the food they produce as this will reduce the cost, since it's readily available, and also give rise to healthy eating habits.